High Junk Peak

If you follow my personal blog, you will know that I am currently on an exchange program in Hong Kong. What is one of the more underrated activities in Hong Kong? That’s right, hiking!

Hong Kong is home to a great number of urban hikes and trails, including the most popular Dragon’s Back hike. My friends and I decide to leave the Dragon’s Back for the other day as we chose to conquer our first peak in Hong Kong together on the 24th Sept – the High Junk Peak.

A brief introduction to the High Junk Peak: It is one of the 3 treacherous peaks in Hong Kong according to Wikipedia with the other 2 being Sharp Peak and Castle Peak. It is also one of the main attractions of the Clear Water Bay Country Park here in Hong Kong.

Getting to High Junk Peak is slightly problematic. You’ll have to take the train to Choi Hung MTR station before taking a 30 minutes bus ride (bus 91) to reach the start of the trail.

Frankly speaking, I did not have much expectations of this trail because it was almost unheard of for a foreigner like me and the prospects of a long bus ride put me off a little (because I have motion sickness). However, I was surprised with the sheer beauty and the ease of this hike. The hike mostly consists of 2 peaks. Getting up the first peak is easy enough but as you go on, getting up the next peak is slightly difficult.

(I blame it on my poor health and lack of exercise too)

This is the earliest view you can get after walking up flights of stone steps:

img_3376

I apologise for the poor photo quality because it was taken on my iPhone instead of the normal DSLR camera that I usually use.

After hiking for a while, you’ll get to see the Clear Water Bay.

img_3381

img_3384

We did not go down to look at the bay from the bottom but hey, the top view is better right? Plus the breeze felt heavenly from up there.

Near the end of the route, you’ll get to see settlements on the bay and a country club that is exclusive for members only.

img_3396

There is also a small temple to the right of this view where they’ll sell cold drinks, perfect after a great hike. Do note that you’ll have to walk down flights of steps before you reach the temple.

All in all, I’m pretty satisfied with the views from this first hike in Hong Kong. Hopefully, I’ll be able to conquer more hikes that will give me views of similar standards or even better!

To the remaining 3 months in Hong Kong, cheers!

Leave a comment